Lives of Forms

Kamrooz Aram & Iman Issa

Z33 presents the first two-person exhibition of internationally acclaimed artists Kamrooz Aram (IR, 1978) and Iman Issa (EG, 1979). Titled Lives of Forms, this exhibition focuses on the artists’ explorations of the political significance of aesthetic forms.

Iman Issa reimagines existing artworks and monuments. In two series of sculptural displays, she introduces new forms to evoke the same ideas, public figures, and historical events as those portrayed in the original works she references. Stripped of recognizable details, her versions look nothing like the originals. In this way, she directs the viewer’s attention away from questions of provenance and towards the changing relationship between form and subject matter. Whereas the form of an artwork or monument normally remains unchanged over time, the meaning of what it represents changes as a result of historical developments. Issa’s works seek new forms for shifting meanings. Which forms can convey the meaning of a word, person or historical moment?

Kamrooz Aram’s unique approach to painting extends beyond the canvas and onto the gallery walls, integrating exhibition design with the artworks on display. In his work, he places ornament at the center of modern painting, thus challenging eurocentric versions of art history in which ornamental art is seen as a lesser art form. Aram’s compositions in the exhibition reveal surprising parallels between ornamental art and geometric abstract painting. They create subtle interdependences between paintings, objects and the mechanism of display, inviting the viewer to consider how the way we look at forms and artifacts in museums is shaped by the display strategies we encounter.

Curator: Tim Roerig & Silvia Franceschini

Special thanks to:

Green Art Gallery, Dubai

Rodeo, London / Piraeus

carlier | gebauer, Berlin

01.05 to 01.08.21

Bring headphones or earbuds with aux to experience the exhibition in full. Don't have any? You can buy them at our reception desk for 0.50 euro and support one of the causes by klimaatcoalitie.be.

  • Share this
  • F
  • T

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief!

Please!

Choose your language

Lives of Forms

Kamrooz Aram & Iman Issa

Z33 présente la première exposition en duo des artistes de renommée internationale Kamrooz Aram (IR, 1978) et Iman Issa (EG, 1979). Cette exposition appelée Lives of Forms explore le sens personnel et politique des formes esthétiques.

Iman Issa réinterprète des œuvres et monuments existants. Dans ses installations sculpturales, elle cherche à recréer sous d’autres formes les mêmes idées, personnages publics et événements historiques que ceux des œuvres originales auxquelles elle se réfère. Privées de détails reconnaissables, ses versions ne ressemblent en rien aux originaux auxquels elle fait allusion dans les textes qui les accompagnent. Tandis que la forme d’une œuvre d’art ou d’un monument reste en principe inchangée à travers le temps, la signification de l’œuvre peut se transformer à mesure que l’histoire évolue. Les œuvres d’Iman Issa cherchent de nouvelles formes pour ces significations qui évoluent. Quelles forment peuvent traduire le sens d’un mot, d’une personne ou d’un monument historique ?

Kamrooz Aram aborde la peinture d’une manière unique qui va bien au-delà de la toile. Il peint également les murs des galeries, intégrant ainsi le projet d’exposition dans ses œuvres. Dans son travail, il accorde à l’ornement une place centrale dans la peinture moderne. Il questionne ainsi la vision eurocentrée de l’histoire de l’art, où l’ornement est souvent considéré comme une forme d’art mineure. Les compositions de Kamrooz Aram révèlent de surprenants parallèles entre l’art ornemental et la peinture abstraite géométrique. Il crée une interdépendance entre les tableaux, les objets et le projet d’exposition, invitant ainsi le public à réfléchir à la manière dont la muséographie influence le regard que chacun porte sur l’art.

Commisaires: Tim Roerig & Silvia Franceschini

Merci à: 

Green Art Gallery, Dubai

Rodeo, London / Piraeus

carlier | gebauer, Berlin

01.05 a 01.08.21
  • Partagez ce programme
  • F
  • T

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief!

Volontiers!

Choose your language

nlenProgrammez votre visite →