© Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc, The Night Reader, for Wilson Harris (2), 2018. Photo Courtesy XC.HuA.

Le Déracinement

On Diasporic Imaginations

Migration and diasporas have been defining the European cultural landscape since its very foundation. The exhibition Le Déracinement disentangles Europe’s ambiguous relationship with its multiple outsides, starting from North Africa and the Mediterranean and continuing on to the Congo, the Caribbean, and ultimately French Guiana, where the EU has its most distant border. The artists uncover forgotten histories of resistance, friendship and solidarity enacted in between worlds. And not as reconstructions, but as poetic explorations.

Shown in Belgium for the first time are the photographs taken by the French sociologist Pierre Bourdieu (FR, 1930 – 2002), forming the starting point of the exhibition. During the Algerian War of Independence (1954 – 1961), Bourdieu and the Algerian sociologist of migration Abdelmalek Sayad (DZ, 1933 – 1998) travelled through the country to document the French colonizer’s forced displacement of entire villages. This fieldwork into the drastically altered human and natural environment of northern Algeria was collected in the book Le Déracinement (Uprooting), which lends its title to the exhibition.

Reflections on the complex interdependencies between people and their environments run throughout the gallery spaces of Z33. The artists respond to instances of uprooting and subsequent regrounding, proposing alternative imaginaries of belonging.

Artists: Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc, Francis Alÿs, Yto Barrada, Anna Boghiguian, Pierre Bourdieu, Fatma Bucak, Mohamed Bourouissa, Raphaël Grisey & Bouba Touré, Kapwani Kiwanga, Vincent Meessen, Sara Ouhaddou, Lydia Ourahmane, The Otolith Group — Anjalika Sagar & Kodwo Eshun, Mounira Al Solh, Lorenzo Pezzani/Hostile Environment(s).

Curator: Silvia Franceschini
Curatorial Assistant: Jeanne Coppens

With the support of the French Embassy in Belgium. In the framework of EXTRA, programme of French contemporary creation in Belgium.

Special thanks to: Camera Austria, Graz, Austria (Christine Frisinghelli); Fondation Pierre Bourdieu (Franz Schultheis); Galerie Jan Mot, Brussels; Galerie Polaris, Paris; Nicoletta Fiorucci Russo De Li Galli Collection, London; Blum & Poe, Los Angeles / New York / Tokyo; Silvia Fiorucci Roman Collection, Monaco; Galerie Sfeir-Semler, Hamburg, Germany; Collection 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine, Metz, France; ar/ge kunst, Bolzano, Italy; Sharjah Architecture Triennial

06.03 to 16.05.21

Bring headphones or earbuds with aux to experience the exhibition in full. Don't have any? You can buy them at our reception desk for 0.50 euro and support one of the causes by klimaatcoalitie.be.

Tags

expoexpo

Exhibition folder
Download your copy here!

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief!

Please!

Choose your language

© Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc, The Night Reader, for Wilson Harris (2), 2018. Photo par XC.HuA.

Le Déracinement

Des Imaginations Diasporiques

De longue date, les migrations et les diasporas ont contribué à façonner le paysage culturel européen. Le Déracinement démêle cette relation ambiguë que l’Europe entretient avec ses frontières extérieures, en partant de l’Afrique du Nord et de la Méditerranée pour aller jusqu’au Congo, aux Antilles ou la Guyane française, la frontière la plus lointaine. Les artistes y mettent en lumière des récits oubliés de révoltes, d’amitiés et de coopérations internationales. Pas en tant que reconstruction, mais en tant qu’exploration poétique.

Les réflexions sur l’interdépendance complexe entre l’homme et son environnement constituent le fil rouge des salles d’exposition de Z33. Les artistes se sont intéressés aux moments de déracinement et aux réinstallations qui ont suivi, en proposant des représentations alternatives de la solidarité.

Pierre Bourdieu et la Guerre d’Indépendance d’Algérie

C’est la première fois que les photos du sociologue Pierre Bourdieu (FR, 1930-2002) sont présentées en Belgique ; elles constituent le point de départ de l’exposition. Pendant la Guerre d’Indépendance d’Algérie (1958-1961), il voyage dans le pays en compagnie du philosophe algérien Abdelmalek Sayad (DZ, 1933-1998). Ensemble, ils ont documenté l’exode massif des populations villageoises vers les villes de France et d’Algérie, sous la pression du colonisateur français. Ce travail de terrain étudiant les changements radicaux du paysage humain et naturel dans le Nord de l’Algérie a été compilé dans l’ouvrage Le Déracinement, auquel l’exposition a emprunté son titre.

Les photos de Bourdieu jettent un regard critique et insubordonné sur le conflit : elles expriment ses impressions, ses réflexions et son respect face à une population qui lutte pour son indépendance.

Artistes : Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc, Francis Alÿs, Yto Barrada, Anna Boghiguian, Pierre Bourdieu, Fatma Bucak, Mohamed Bourouissa, Raphaël Grisey & Bouba Touré, Kapwani Kiwanga, Vincent Meessen, Sara Ouhaddou, Lydia Ourahmane, The Otolith Group — Anjalika Sagar & Kodwo Eshun, Mounira Al Solh, Lorenzo Pezzani/Hostile Environment(s).

Commissaire : Silvia Franceschini
Commissaire adjointe : Jeanne Coppens

Avec le soutien de l’Ambassade de France en Belgique. Dans le cadre de EXTRA, programme de création contemporaine française en Belgique.

Merci à : Camera Austria, Graz, Autriche (Christine Frisinghelli), Fondation Pierre Bourdieu (Franz Schultheis); Galerie Jan Mot, Brussels Galerie Polaris, Paris, Nicoletta Fiorucci Russo De Li Galli Collection, Londres;
Blum & Poe, Los Angeles / New York / Tokyo, Silvia Fiorucci Roman Collection, Monaco, Galerie Sfeir-Semler, Hambourg, Allemagne, Collection 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine, Metz, France, ar/ge kunst, Bozen, Italie, Sharjah Architecture Triennial

06.03 a 16.05.21

Apportez des écouteurs avec AUX pour découvrir l'exposition aux mieux. Est-ce que vous n'en avez pas ? Achetez-les à notre réception au prix de 0,50 euro. Vous soutenez une des causes de klimaatcoalitie.be.

  • Partagez ce programme
  • F
  • T
Participants
Brochure d'exposition
Téléchargez votre copy ici!

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief!

Volontiers!

Choose your language

nlenProgrammez votre visite →